Books

Gettin’ dicked around by your boo? There’s a book for that. Leave a Cheater, Gain a Life (Running Press) is a survival guide for “chumps,” the affectionate term Tracy Schorn—author and creator of advice site ChumpLady.com—uses for folks who’ve been dealt that ultra-shitty card: a partner who cheats. It’s a tough love how-to manual that reminds delusional reconciliation-seekers that, “Cheating is about as unintentional as a NATO airstrike.
Can't get enough Amy Schumer? Fear not! Now you can enjoy her raunchy humor in her upcoming memoir. On Saturday, Schumer shared the book cover and pre-order info on her Instagram and Twitter. The cover and title of her book are exactly what we would expect from the comedienne: witty, sexy and a little self-deprecating.   The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo is a book of personal essays in the vein of Tina Fey's Bossypants or Mindy Kaling's Why Not Me?  According to the Amazon description of the book, it's "written with Amy’s signature candor.
Alice Walker, poet and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of the literary classic The Color Purple, will be answering fan questions on Facebook during a live stream video broadcast tonight at 5:30pm EST.
Photo by Ari Seth Cohen As we get older, it’s easy to worry about our looks and to fear invisibility. The antidote to that is Advanced Style, photographer Ari Seth Cohen’s online homage to older people’s street style. His second book, Advanced Style: Older and Wiser (out April 26 from powerHouse), features photos of amazing women and men from around the world who make every day a performance with their wardrobes. Forget invisibility, these gorgeous seniors shine in their fabulous getups. The book also includes a few essays from A.S.
This April is the 20th National Poetry Month, and what better way to celebrate than by curling up with a good book? While most of us can name at least a few women in the field, here’s a list of contemporary poets you may not be familiar with. 1. Claudia RankineRankine is a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets and has published five volumes of poetry, two plays and various essays. Her 2014 book, Citizen: An American Lyric, won the PEN Open Book Award, in addition to numerous others, and was a finalist for the National Book Award.
Amber Tamblyn is a FON— a Force Of Nature. You don’t say no to a force of nature when she asks you to interview her for BUST. You just jump in. The tirelessly energetic and visionary actress, poet, and activist is currently celebrating the publication of her third volume of poetry, Dark Sparkler (out April 7), a sequence of works based on the deaths of young women in Hollywood, both known and unknown.
Remember when you were young and malleable, and kickass female protagonists told you anything was possible? These ten children's book heroines taught me incredibly valuable life lessons, and I still return to these books as a grown woman to remember their timeless wisdom. From Matilda's magic powers to Pippi Longstocking's superhuman strength, these ten fearless females give us the keys to live out our most enchanted and exuberant lives. 1. Reading gives you magic powers. Matilda Wormwood is the ultimate heroine.
The author of the novel Re Jane discusses why Jane Eyre’s Rochester isn’t all that.I am no fan of Mr. Rochester, though I recognize these are fighting words for Jane Eyreheads everywhere. Jane is eighteen to Rochester’s almost forty years of worldly (and, ahem, carnal) experience. When he speaks to Jane, he barks—commanding her when to come and go. He blatantly flirts with another woman and forces Jane to sit in the parlor and watch. He deceives her, first with minor offenses: dressing up as a fortune-telling gypsy woman to pry forth her secrets.
  Move over, Rory Gilmore. If tongues can be sharp, and words are our weapons, then women who read are dangerous. That's what Karen Joy Fowler wants to convey in the new book Women Who Read Are Dangerous. The book includes paintings from throughout the history of art that portray women reading. The book features over 70 artworks by artists such as Henri Matisse, Edward Hopper, Suzanne Valadon, August Sander, Rembrandt, and many more. Women Who Read Are Dangerous is available now.
Looking for some new spring reads to flip through as you sit in the park for the first time of the season? Check out these awesome page-turners!  1. What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours: Stories by Helen Oyeyemi  (Riverhead Books)  Nigerian-British writer Helen Oyeyemi’s collection of interconnected short stories is a worthy follow-up to her critically acclaimed 2014 novel Boy, Snow, Bird.
Facebook_websiteTwitter_websitePinterest_websiteRSS_websiteTumblr_websiteIG_website

Search