pVel7J1A 92e23

Bleached Let Go Of The Past On “Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough?”

by BUST Magazine

Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough?
(Dead Oceans)  

Sobriety has brought Bleached reflection, growth, and a third full-length record. While the subject matter is heavy, lyrically, Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough? puts a fun ’70s pop twist on the band’s electric guitar-led sound. Sisters Jessica and Jennifer Clavin discuss severing ties with relationships held together by substance abuse (“Silly Girl,” “Somebody Dial 911”), facing reality (“Daydream”), and coming to terms with their former selves (“Real Life”). Letting go of the past sometimes takes harsh honesty, and the Clavins don’t shy away from the truth. Like the sisters sing on “Kiss You Goodbye,” “Some things are just meant to die.” (4/5)

By Kathryn Hensch

Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough? is out July 12, 2019. This article originally appeared in the July/August 2019 print edition of BUST Magazine. Subscribe today!

More from BUST

Alex Lahey Wishes “Every Day’s The Weekend” In Her New Music Video (#Same)

Jesca Hoop’s Stonechild Is Mysterious, But Familiar

Necking’s “Cut Your Teeth” Is Saucy And Punk



You may also like

Get the print magazine.

The best of BUST in your inbox!

Subscribe to Our Weekly Newsletter

About Us

Founded in 1993, BUST is the inclusive feminist lifestyle trailblazer offering a unique mix of humor, female-focused entertainment, uncensored personal stories, and candid reporting that tells the truth about women’s lives.

©2023 Street Media LLC.  All Right Reserved.