In the midst of this salon crackdown and expose in NYC, there's no better time to DIY your nails like the best in the biz. You definitely don't need to go to a manicurist who is underpaid and overworked to get on trend with the colorful standout from the spring fashion shows: nail art. Gone are the days when a nude polish dominated the runways and streets as a mainstay for the modern, professional woman. Now, bright talons and artistic designs are the latest frontier for creative self-expression—and frankly, an easy way to pump up your spring fashion game

The more we do our own nail designs, or seek out licensed, fairly compensated professionals, the better it will be for women everywhere. Check out these photos for some major mani inspiration, and don't forget to follow some of the top nail artists on Instagram!

1. Alicia Torell @aliciatnails

ADVERTISEMENT

 

2. Sarah at Chalkboard Nails @chalkboardnails

 

3. Jin Soon @jinsoonchoi

 

4. Jenna Hipp @jennahipp

 

5. Jessica Washick @jessicawashick

 

6. Kimmie Kyees @kimmiekyees

New Fall Issue d217c

 

7. Mei Kawajiri @ciaomanhattan2012

 

8. Kelly Kristi Heralda @bakenekonails

 

9. Deborah Lippmann @deborahlippmann

 

10. Wah Nails @wahnails

 

11. Taryn Multack @missladyfinger

 

Images c/o Instagram users

Support Feminist Media!
During these troubling political times, independent feminist media is more vital than ever. If our bold, uncensored reporting on women’s issues is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $25, $50, or whatever you can afford, to protect and sustain BUST.com.
Thanks so much—we can’t spell BUST without U.

 DONATE NOW