Spiritualized AndNothingHurt b8922

And Nothing Hurt
(Fat Possum Records)

After a six-year hiatus, off-kilter space-rock outfit Spiritualized has returned with a new album that is certainly well worth the long wait. Frontman Jason Pierce opted to record on a limited budget in his own home, which gives it a highly intimate feeling. Starting off the album is “Perfect Miracle,” a whimsical and upbeat sentimental song that conjures the glowing feeling of a new love. “I’m Your Man” is a loud, rousing number with backing choir vocals and layered guitar work. Meanwhile, the bittersweet “Let’s Dance” laments on aging and the passing of time. And Nothing Hurt runs the gamut of emotions, offering songs worthy both of the dance floor and of times of quiet reflection. (5/5)



By Adrienne Urbanski
And Nothing Hurt was released September 7, 2018
This article originally appeared in the October/November 2018  print edition of BUST Magazine. Subscribe today!


More from BUST

Cat Power Is Back With New Album "Wanderer": Review

Tunde Olaniran's "Stranger" Is Pop Caffeine For Long Subway Rides: Review

Madeline Kenney's "Perfect Shapes" Is A Dream You Won't Want To Wake Up From: Review