Joanna Newsome, known for her unique brand of folky/electronic music,is about to go on her first North American tour in FIVE YEARS!  The tour will follow the release of her newest album Divers, out on Drag Records on October 23rd.  Two singles have already dropped from Divers ("Leaving the City" and "Sapokanikan"), leading us to believe this album will be the surrealist dream machine we were all hoping for.  Newsom has the rare ability to not just carry a tune but use her voice as an instrument to punctuate the music and create rhythms that challenge the piano melodies.

ADVERTISEMENT

 The North American leg of the tour starts off in Boston December 6th but, if you can’t wait that long, the music video for her title track will be screening all over the US starting October 16th. Divers was directed by Paul Thomas Anderson using art by Kim Keever (who also created the album art). We are to expect Keever’s art to come to life in a landscape that will surround and interact with the beautiful songstress.

 North American tour dates:

ADVERTISEMENT

Sun. Dec. 6 - Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre*
Mon. Dec. 7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre*
Wed. Dec. 9 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer*
Thu. Dec. 10 - Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre*
Sat. Dec. 12 - Munhall, PA @ Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall*
Sun. Dec. 13 - Buffalo, NY @ Asbury Hall @ Babeville*
Mon. Dec. 14 - Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre*
Tue. Dec. 15 - Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre*
Wed. Dec. 16 - Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theatre*
Thu. Dec. 17 - St. Paul, MN @ The Fitzgerald Theater*
Fri. Dec. 18 - Madison, WI @ Orpheum Theatre

Images via: dragcity.com

Read more on BUST.com:

This LGBT Love Story Music Video Might Make You Cry

Margaret Cho Celebrates 'Fat Pussy' In Her New Music Video

New Order ‘Music Complete’ (Mute Records): Review

Support Feminist Media!
During these troubling political times, independent feminist media is more vital than ever. If our bold, uncensored reporting on women’s issues is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $25, $50, or whatever you can afford, to protect and sustain BUST.com.
Thanks so much—we can’t spell BUST without U.

 DONATE NOW