American indie folk artist, Angel Olsen, debuted a new video last week for “Windows,” the lament that closes her 2014 album, Burn Your Fire for No Witness. The deluxe edition of the album, featuring five bonus tracks, was also released last week on Jagjaguwar.

ADVERTISEMENT

For the video, Olsen collaborated with director Rick Alverson (who has previously worked with Sharon Van Etten and Bonnie “Prince” Billy), saying "I gave him total freedom to set the tone and I wanted only to be present within it. I wanted to make something cinematic and forward, and I believe he did that here."

Olsen’s motionless face haunts the video through homestead-set scenes that, like her lyrics, suggest a larger story without indulging in much narration. As the lustrous song expands into a dirge power ballad (is that a thing?), Olsen stares unflinchingly into an empty field as children paint her cheeks with petroleum jelly  -- until they flee and she is transformed into a majestic, ruffed royal at a portrait studio. Or something. The meager lyrics imply a mournful desperation, open to shifting interpretations: “Why don’t you open a window sometime? / What’s so wrong with the light?”

No one really gets it, but, that voice. Dang. 

 

Go see that face and hear that voice in person as she tours this winter:

Sat. Nov. 29 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall w/ Lionlimb

Mon. Dec. 1 - San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall w/ Kevin Morby

Tue. Dec. 2 - San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel - SOLO SHOW w/ Meg Baird

Wed. Dec. 3 - Los Angeles, CA @ Silent Movie Theatre (following AO-chosen screening of "Cleo from 5 to 7") - SOLO SHOW

New Fall Issue d217c

Thu. Dec. 4 - Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre w/ Kevin Morby

Sat. Dec. 6 - Brooklyn, NY @ Roulette - SOLO SHOW w/ Jaye Bartell

Mon. Dec. 8 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Lionlimb

Tue. Dec. 9 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Lionlimb

Mon. Jan. 26 - Auckland, NZ @ Laneway Festival

Sat. Jan. 31 - Brisbane, AU @ Laneway Festival

Sun. Feb. 1 - Sydney, AU @ Laneway Festival

Tue. Feb. 3 - Sydney, AU @ Oxford Arts Factory

Wed. Feb. 4 - Melbourne, AU @ Howler

Fri. Feb. 6 - Adelaide, AU @ Laneway Festival

Sat. Feb. 7 - Melbourne, AU @ Laneway Festival

Sun. Feb. 8 - Fremantle, AU @ Laneway Festival

 

Images and video via Angel Olsen

Support Feminist Media!
During these troubling political times, independent feminist media is more vital than ever. If our bold, uncensored reporting on women’s issues is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $25, $50, or whatever you can afford, to protect and sustain BUST.com.
Thanks so much—we can’t spell BUST without U.

 DONATE NOW