Tomorrow, Oct. 14, join Restaurant Opportunities Centers United (ROC – United) and One Billion Rising in a National Day of Action for ONE FAIR WAGE and an end to gender discrimination and sexual harassment in the restaurant industry.

Help support women in an unfair wage war. Women of color and low-income women who depend on tips are especially put at a disadvantage. Restaurants are the fastest growing industry but employ the lowest paid workers. We have to stop this!

ADVERTISEMENT

“Women are at the core of the modern economy, but families can’t prosper as long as our laws about work and family are stuck in the past," organizers said in a statement. "Our mothers, sisters, and daughters deserve full and fair opportunities to succeed, just like our brothers and sons. It’s time to update our economy to make it work for women and their families, not just for rich corporations. Our families, our economy, and our country depend on it.”

Find your local city below and join in the fun! There will be a flash mob of dancing servers, worker stories from ROC members, and an opportunity for others to share their stories in the industry.

City

Time of Action

Location of Action

ROC Staff Contact

Berkeley, CA

3:00 pm

Berkeley, CA Action

Campanille Esplanade

UC Berkeley Campus

 

Andrew Sudler asudler@berkeley.edu

Boston, MA

12:00 pm

115 Huntington Avenue(Prudential Center, in front of the Cheesecake Factory)

 

Maddie Conway maddie@rocunited.org

Chicago, IL

5:00 pm

Daley Plaza, Chicago

(North side of Washington, between Dearborn and Clark Streets, 50 W. Washington)

 

Irene Juaniza Irene@rocunited.org

Detroit, MI

10:00 am

Governor’s Office of Urban and Metropolitan Initiatives, 3044 W. Grand Boulevard, Detroit, MI 48202

 

Alicia Renee Farris alicia@rocunited.org

New Fall Issue d217c

Houston, TX

TBA

 

Jesus Waldo jesuswaldo@gmail.com

Los Angeles, CA

11:00 am

735 S. Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA(In front of the Fig at 7th Shopping Plaza)

 

Kathy Hoang kathy@rocunited.org

New Orleans, LA

12:00 pm

Riverwalk/AquariumAudubon Aquarium of the Americas, #1 Canal Street

 

Le’Kedra Robertson lekedra@rocunited.org

NYC Event Features Guest Speakers Eve Ensler & Saru Jayaraman

New York City, NY 

11:00 am

New York City Hall StepsCity Hall Park

 

Andrew Nguyenandrew.n@rocunited.org

Philadelphia, PA

5:00 pm

227 S. 18thStreet(Rittenhouse Square, in front of Parc Restaurant)

 

Calvin Okunoye calvin@rocunited.org

Washington, DC

5:15 pm

1615 H Street NWWashington, DC (in front of the National Chamber of Commerce)

 

Stephanie Roth stephanie@rocunited.org

 Chart via 1 Billion Rising 

Support Feminist Media!
During these troubling political times, independent feminist media is more vital than ever. If our bold, uncensored reporting on women’s issues is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $25, $50, or whatever you can afford, to protect and sustain BUST.com.
Thanks so much—we can’t spell BUST without U.

 DONATE NOW