Quantcast
Blog | Page 789

Blog

Members of LAEV on a bike rideFor many women, a new kind of communal living offers a radical solution to the most basic problems of work/life balance. But could “cohousing” be right for you? In the car-congested metropolis of Los Angeles, where drive-throughs and gas stations are ubiquitous, there is a unique community in the Koreatown section where residents grow their own crops and eschew automobiles in favor of bicycles. It’s housed in a three-building complex (once low-income housing), which is typical for the area, but...
Can't get enough Amy Schumer? Fear not! Now you can enjoy her raunchy humor in her upcoming memoir. On Saturday, Schumer shared the book cover and pre-order info on her Instagram and Twitter. The cover and title of her book are exactly what we would expect from the comedienne: witty, sexy and a little self-deprecating.   The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo is a book of personal essays in the vein of Tina Fey's Bossypants or Mindy Kaling's Why Not Me?  According to the Amazon description of the book,...
These adorable, candy-colored bikes have been popping up all over Brooklyn like so many artisan chocolates. Featuring perfectly respectable 20" wheels, they fold up small enough to fit in a closet, but ride just like a full-sized bike. (They also weigh as much as a large bike, so don’t plan on toting it around like a handbag.) Best of all, the price is tiny as well: just $199 gets you this sturdy, steel-framed, six-speed cutie. Find out more at citizenbike.com. --- This article originally appeared in the April/May...
Caleb and Camille Fang (played by Christopher Walken and Maryann Plunkett) are well-known and highly regarded performance artists who — in the 1970s — incorporated their children into their elaborate, high-risk pranks, causing chaos and mischief for the sake of art. The children, Annie and Baxter, now fully grown, have emancipated themselves, but still attribute their downward spirals to their unconventional childhoods.  Annie (played by Nicole Kidman) receives a call from her brother Baxter (played by Jason Bateman), who has been shot in the ear. Baxter,...
Mother's Day is this Sunday, and that means it's time to thank the mothers in our lives that helped support us and shape us into the people we are today. For many of us, that means thanking our real-life mamas, but there are plenty of fictional mom's who have also had great influences on the way we think about motherhood and the unique struggles that come along with it. These TV moms have taught us that there are many different ways to be a mother...