Blonde Redhead to Release Benefit Album for Japan

Blonde Redhead frontwoman Kazu Makino has organized some pretty stellar musicians for a good cause: We Are the Works in Progress is a 14-song compilation album to support Japan's efforts to rebuild and heal after  the 2011 tsunami.  The album features exclusive tracks, remixes, and new versions of songs-- many of them works in progress themselves-- from artists such as Karin Dreijer Andersson (Fever Ray, The Knife), John Maus, and Deerhunter. We Are the Works in Progress will be the debut release on Blonde Redhead's Asa Wa Kuru imprint label (Japanese for "Morning Will Come") and will be available for digital download on January 10, but you can also pre-order the vinyl here. Proceeds will go to the Japan Earthquake Relief Fund and Architecture for Humanity.

Here's the complete track listing:


1. Moma – Four Tet
2. No Face – Karin Dreijer Andersson
3. G Song – Terry Riley
4. Nightcrawler – Nosaj Thing
5. Berceuse – John Roberts
6. Penny Sparkle – Blonde Redhead
7. Bird On A Wire – Pantha Du Prince
8. In Here The World Begins – Broadcast
9. Drip – Liars/Blonde Redhead
10. Curve – Deerhunter
11. Stalagmite – Stalactite
12. Castles In The Grave – John Maus
13. Bamboo House – David Sylvain/Ryuichi Sakamoto
14. Song Seven – Interpol

Listen to Four Tet's new song "Moma" below:

Four Tet - Moma by Four Tet


For more information about the project and the album, click here.


Tagged in: tsunami, Music, Japan, Blonde Redhead, benefit, albums   

The opinions expressed on the BUST blog are those of the authors themselves and do not necessarily reflect the position of BUST Magazine or its staff.

blog comments powered by Disqus