Quantcast

 

Screen Shot 2017 02 03 at 11.34.39 AM

Arkansas’ Act 45, also known as “The Unborn Child Protection From Dismemberment Abortion Act,” was signed last week by (male) Governor Asa Hutchinson.

ADVERTISEMENT

This new law could allow the parents and/or the baby daddies of the women seeking abortions to sue the abortion provider for civil damages. What’s even more disturbing about this law is that it makes no exception for cases of rape or incest.

Additionally, New York magazine reports that this act prohibits dilation and evacuation, a practice commonly used in most second trimester abortions. Thus, it effectively makes abortion illegal after the 14-week mark.

Thankfully, abortion activists in Arkansas promised to fight this law in court before it goes into effect.

"The law puts an undue burden on a woman’s constitutional right to obtain a second-trimester abortion, and I think the legislature knows it and doesn’t care," Rita Sklar, an attorney for the Arkansas chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union, told Reuters.

Here’s hoping this act ends up being a flop. But considering conservative Republicans have the supermajority in Arkansas’ state legislature, this might be a tough battle.

 

Top Image via Flickr/scATX

 

More from BUST

If Women Signed An Anti-Ejaculation Law

Why The March For Life Is Different This Year

The Netherlands Announce International Abortion Fund To Counteract Trump

Rafaella is a graduate of The New School, where she majored in journalism and minored in gender studies. She's passionate about feminism, LGBTQ+ rights, combatting online harassment, and ending herpes stigma. Visit her website: ellagunz.com

Support Feminist Media! During these troubling political times, independent feminist media is more vital than ever. If our bold, uncensored reporting on women’s issues is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $25, $50, or whatever you can afford, to protect and sustain BUST.com. Thanks so much—we can’t spell BUST without U.