Quantcast

Books

If you’re reading BUST, you probably already know that the Bechdel test asks whether a work of fiction 1) features at least two women 2) who talk to each other 3) about something other than a man. It is named for cartoonist Alison Bechdel, and it has sure inspired a lot of lists of films, particularly those that fail the test, but I’d like to look at works that pass it. Here’s a short list of YA novels to add to your reading list that both...
The Governess by Richard Redgrave, 1844. During the 19th century, a gently bred young lady with no fortune, no family, and no prospects had few options for making her way in the world. She might hire herself out as a companion, of course. Or if she was particularly adept with a needle, she might take in a bit of sewing. Both were respectable, genteel occupations for a lady down on her luck and, as such, both are well-represented in historical novels. However, despite the undoubted romantic appeal...

  You can 100 percent still be a fangirl if none of these ex­tremes apply to you. Just because you don’t spend your time illegally downloading the Lifetime movies in which your favor­ite celebrities had three-word roles doesn’t mean you aren’t al­lowed to appreciate them. The fangirl way of life doesn’t belong in a box any more than my “I Met Li’l Sebastian at the Pawnee Harvest Festival” T-shirt belongs at the bottom of my closet. Wear it proudly, and don’t let anyone tell you what...
Yes, BUSTies, it's time to grab some colored pencils because it's happening -- Lisa Frank is making a coloring book just for you. The image above from Lisa Frank's Instagram is the only sneak peek into the rainbow wonderland so far, but from the way its looking it seems we should set our expectations high. Over the past couple years, the number of adult coloring books on the market has skyrocketed, proclaiming coloring's positive, meditative effects on the human psyche, young or old. For those of...
The following excerpt from BUST contributor Alison Flowers's new book, Exoneree Diaries: The Fight for Innocence, Independence, and Identity, out June 7, features Kristine Bunch, a woman wrongly convicted and exonerated of the murder of her 3-year-old son, who perished in a home trailer fire in Indiana. The book explores what happens to innocent people after the state sets them free and tosses them out into an unfamiliar world:  Wrongly convicted women face a unique set of challenges. Sexism lurks at every stage of the...
The ironic and barrier-breaking art from the '80s and '90s London—known as BritArt—simultaneously received praise and dismissal, while stomping itself into relevancy and public attention across the UK. Artrage! The Inside Story of the BritArt Revolution written by Elizabeth Fullerton, details the history of The Young British Artists as they swept the contemporary art scene by storm in the late 1980s. This book reflects back three decades, taking a closer look at the rise and popularity growth experienced by the YBAs in the '80s and '90s and...
Calling all Sweet Valley High readers! You can now have your face illustrated just like Sweet Valley High favorites Jessica and Elizabeth Wakefield and friends! James L. Mathewuse, the illustrator behind the covers of Sweet Valley High, is now taking your requests. Consultations are free and portraits start at $200. In celebration of this exciting opportunity, we put together nine of the endless ways you can be your own Sweet Valley High cover star. 1. Grab your bestie and your shiniest lip-gloss, and strike a pose.  2. You can always go for...
I actually wasn’t familiar with The Moth until Hannah Horvath, Lena Dunham’s character on the hit television series Girls, decided to take up writing again. The season 5 finale had Hannah performing at The Moth’s StorySLAM, where real people tell their true stories live without notes. These StorySLAMS are themed shows, and the theme of the evening was jealousy; Hannah chose to speak about her thoughts on Jessa and Adam's relationship. It turns out that The Moth and its StorySLAMS are a real thing, and...

Gettin’ dicked around by your boo? There’s a book for that. Leave a Cheater, Gain a Life (Running Press) is a survival guide for “chumps,” the affectionate term Tracy Schorn—author and creator of advice site ChumpLady.com—uses for folks who’ve been dealt that ultra-shitty card: a partner who cheats. It’s a tough love how-to manual that reminds delusional reconciliation-seekers that, “Cheating is about as unintentional as a NATO airstrike.”   But this book isn’t just a sternly worded (and hilarious) anti-infidelity manifesto; it’s also full of practical advice...
Can't get enough Amy Schumer? Fear not! Now you can enjoy her raunchy humor in her upcoming memoir. On Saturday, Schumer shared the book cover and pre-order info on her Instagram and Twitter. The cover and title of her book are exactly what we would expect from the comedienne: witty, sexy and a little self-deprecating.   The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo is a book of personal essays in the vein of Tina Fey's Bossypants or Mindy Kaling's Why Not Me?  According to the Amazon description of the book,...
Facebook_websiteTwitter_websitePinterest_websiteRSS_websiteTumblr_websiteIG_website

Search

unnamed 2 copy copy

Upcoming Events

Locker Room Talk: Confronting Sexual Assault in the Age of Trump
Sun Apr 23 @ 5:00PM - 08:00PM
Labors of Love
Fri Apr 28 @ 7:00PM -
People's Climate March
Sat Apr 29 @12:00AM - 11:00PM
(NYC) BUST Craftacular Spring
Sat May 06 @11:00AM - 07:00PM
(NYC) BUST Craftacular Spring
Sun May 07 @11:00AM - 07:00PM