Quantcast

Books

I actually wasn’t familiar with The Moth until Hannah Horvath, Lena Dunham’s character on the hit television series Girls, decided to take up writing again. The season 5 finale had Hannah performing at The Moth’s StorySLAM, where real people tell their true stories live without notes. These StorySLAMS are themed shows, and the theme of the evening was jealousy; Hannah chose to speak about her thoughts on Jessa and Adam's relationship. It turns out that The Moth and its StorySLAMS are a real thing, and...

Gettin’ dicked around by your boo? There’s a book for that. Leave a Cheater, Gain a Life (Running Press) is a survival guide for “chumps,” the affectionate term Tracy Schorn—author and creator of advice site ChumpLady.com—uses for folks who’ve been dealt that ultra-shitty card: a partner who cheats. It’s a tough love how-to manual that reminds delusional reconciliation-seekers that, “Cheating is about as unintentional as a NATO airstrike.”   But this book isn’t just a sternly worded (and hilarious) anti-infidelity manifesto; it’s also full of practical advice...
Can't get enough Amy Schumer? Fear not! Now you can enjoy her raunchy humor in her upcoming memoir. On Saturday, Schumer shared the book cover and pre-order info on her Instagram and Twitter. The cover and title of her book are exactly what we would expect from the comedienne: witty, sexy and a little self-deprecating.   The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo is a book of personal essays in the vein of Tina Fey's Bossypants or Mindy Kaling's Why Not Me?  According to the Amazon description of the book,...
Alice Walker, poet and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of the literary classic The Color Purple, will be answering fan questions on Facebook during a live stream video broadcast tonight at 5:30pm EST. Don't miss this opportunity to hear Walker answer questions from her readers, or to ask questions yourself!  Join her on Facebook, where she welcomed everyone to take part in the conversation: "I had so much fun talking to my Facebook friends in February that I've decided to do it again! This Friday, May 6th at 5:30 EST I...
Photo by Ari Seth Cohen As we get older, it’s easy to worry about our looks and to fear invisibility. The antidote to that is Advanced Style, photographer Ari Seth Cohen’s online homage to older people’s street style. His second book, Advanced Style: Older and Wiser (out April 26 from powerHouse), features photos of amazing women and men from around the world who make every day a performance with their wardrobes. Forget invisibility, these gorgeous seniors shine in their fabulous getups. The book also includes a...
This April is the 20th National Poetry Month, and what better way to celebrate than by curling up with a good book? While most of us can name at least a few women in the field, here’s a list of contemporary poets you may not be familiar with. 1. Claudia RankineRankine is a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets and has published five volumes of poetry, two plays and various essays. Her 2014 book, Citizen: An American Lyric, won the PEN Open Book Award, in...
Amber Tamblyn is a FON— a Force Of Nature. You don’t say no to a force of nature when she asks you to interview her for BUST. You just jump in. The tirelessly energetic and visionary actress, poet, and activist is currently celebrating the publication of her third volume of poetry, Dark Sparkler (out April 7), a sequence of works based on the deaths of young women in Hollywood, both known and unknown. It’s a memento mori, a meditation on human value, a commentary on the uses and abuses of young women in a torturous profession, a statement on...
Remember when you were young and malleable, and kickass female protagonists told you anything was possible? These ten children's book heroines taught me incredibly valuable life lessons, and I still return to these books as a grown woman to remember their timeless wisdom. From Matilda's magic powers to Pippi Longstocking's superhuman strength, these ten fearless females give us the keys to live out our most enchanted and exuberant lives. 1. Reading gives you magic powers. Matilda Wormwood is the ultimate heroine. Born into a family that doesn’t love or...
The author of the novel Re Jane discusses why Jane Eyre’s Rochester isn’t all that.I am no fan of Mr. Rochester, though I recognize these are fighting words for Jane Eyreheads everywhere. Jane is eighteen to Rochester’s almost forty years of worldly (and, ahem, carnal) experience. When he speaks to Jane, he barks—commanding her when to come and go. He blatantly flirts with another woman and forces Jane to sit in the parlor and watch. He deceives her, first with minor offenses: dressing up as...
  Move over, Rory Gilmore. If tongues can be sharp, and words are our weapons, then women who read are dangerous. That's what Karen Joy Fowler wants to convey in the new book Women Who Read Are Dangerous. The book includes paintings from throughout the history of art that portray women reading. The book features over 70 artworks by artists such as Henri Matisse, Edward Hopper, Suzanne Valadon, August Sander, Rembrandt, and many more. Women Who Read Are Dangerous is available now.  A young girl reading by Jean-Honore Fragonard Our...